//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Breakfast 101: Reduced-Calorie Bagel Sandwich

Real talk: Nothing makes me happier than a thick, gooey, cheesy breakfast sandwich on a New York style bagel. Well, this morning I woke up and needed that feeling, but then remembered that I did NOT need the 600-calories that comes along with it.

Then it came to me! A trick I had learned when interning in the Gestational Diabetes ward at Cooper University Hospital. The dietitian I shadowed was the first to teach me about scooping out bagels! “Brilliant!” I thought.

Not only was I excited about reducing the calories, carb count and sodium by one-third, I also looked forward to the endless stuffing possibilities.

Side Note: I think the first time I utilized the scoop-out method, I spread low-fat cream cheese around the inside, shoved in some red onions, thin cucumber slices and capers, then topped it off with smoked salmon and tomato! No longer did I have the problem of making sure each ingredient was present with each bite! My smoked salmon bagel boat resolved that issue in a cinch!

With that, I was sold.

The Tip: Toast the bagel halves. Run a knife around the outside of the innards and then again around the bagels center. Use your hands to pull out the breading.

A few healthy ingredient swaps, a scooped-out bagel and Voila! A New York style breakfast sandwich was ready to be served!

Makes: 1 sandwich

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Total Time: 15 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 bagel, toasted and scooped*
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1 slice Lite Cheddar Cheese
  • 1 thin ring, sliced red onion
  • 2 thin slices tomato
  • ½ cup spring mix greens
  • ¼ teaspoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • (Optional ingredients: 1-2 oz turkey bacon pieces)**

Use whole-wheat bagel for added nutritional benefit*

Turkey bacon will increase calorie and sodium count**

Directions:

  1. Preheat skillet to low to medium. Add small amount of oil.
  2. Fry egg whites until solid. Add cheese and fold the egg over to make a thin omelette. Flip and continue to cook for another minute or until cheese is melted.
  3. Construct your breakfast sandwich by layering the egg, tomato, lettuce and red onion slices!

Nutritional Facts Per Serving: 300 Calories, 6 g Fat (3 g Sat), 35 g Carbohydrate, 2.5 g Fiber, 26 g Protein, 15 mg Cholesterol, 500 mg Sodium

Compare to Dunkin Donuts Bagel, Egg and Cheese: 470 Calories, 15 g Fat (6 g Sat), 65 g Carbohydrate, 2 g Fiber, 20 g Protein, 190 mg Cholesterol, 1120 mg Sodium

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Appetite101

